I Made a Pencil Pouch

pouch_final

My boy turned 10 years old yesterday and he has fun sketching and doodling and LOVES pencils and erasers – no idea where this comes from ;). I made him a zipper pencil pouch using inkjet printable canvas on which I had printed one of his drawings. The inside is lined with vinyl and has a camo zipper across the top. These materials where a little difficult to sew together, but I am super pleased with the results, and more importantly, so is the boy.

There are many tutorials for making these lined bags, but I went with this one by Melly Sews: found here.

 

Materials and supplies I used:

  • Inkjet printable canvas by Avery (purchased on Amazon)
  • Vinyl (from fabric store)
  • Scanned drawing
  • 24″ zipper, which I shortened
  • Coordinating thread (orange to shorten zipper, green for top stiching on zipper, white, not shown for all other sewing)
  • Pins
  • Scissors
  • Tape Measure

I cut my fabric to 11″ x 6″

There are more zipper pouches in my future.

pouch_supplies

 

 

