365 Days in My Kitchen: 083

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Artificial Flowers

For so many reasons, I almost didn’t post this. It is likely my least favorite to date in my 365Days series. I was in Tahoe with my family & some friends for a couple days of skiing. We rented a house, and in the kitchen was an artificial flower arrangement. For artificial flowers, they weren’t too bad, and I liked the way these three flowers had long stems that pulled them off to the side. So, after a long day of driving and skiing, I sit down to paint with my travel paints. These are pan paints (the dry pads you add water to) and I haven’t used them since summer. Now, the air in Tahoe is D R Y! !   I think this is a function of altitude and heating, but a scientist, I’m not. I mixed a few colors and started painting. The paint was dry almost before it touched the paper, so by the time I went back to add a secondary color, they wouldn’t blend together like I would have liked. I may have been more successful adding more paint to the paper, but I was not working on super-great watercolor paper to begin with. The yellow flowers in particular have an old-fashioned-artificial-flower look to them, which may be accurate, but not really my aesthetic.

There it is. More than you may care to know about my thoughts on this painting.

Thanks for reading!

