Back to Art

I have been on a summer vacation tour with my family, which is wrapping up in just a couple days. Our home city, San Francisco, has a reputation for having a chilly July and I have found this to be mostly true. Having grown up on the East Coast, summer to me includes a visit to a very hot and humid beach where you can enter the water without donning a wetsuit. A stint in Bethany Beach, DE was part of our adventure, as was visiting grandparent set #1 in Houston, TX and set #2 in Arlington, VA. But I digress…

In addition to looking forward to sleeping in my own bed with my soft, lovely sheets and making a perfect cup of coffee in our recently purchased Moccamaster, I am looking forward to getting back to my art class!!! Ever the sucker for a class and having too many years pass without one, I started attending a once-a-week art class down the street from my kiddos school in early Spring. During the school year it’s great, as it is held during the day, but summer vacation has made attendance a little trickier.

I’ve been taking pictures of whichever project I’m working on at the end of each class. to share with my husband and boys. It’s fun to watch the progress – sometimes big, sometimes not. Here is one of my favorites so far and my 2nd chalk pastel. Messy, yes, but I’ve grown quite fond of it.

Image

 

I went to the Alameda flea market with a friend a couple months ago and found this great vintage gold wooden frame with white canvas inlay. Amazing what a great frame can do!

Next up, I’ll be working with pen + ink + watercolor. Can’t wait!

comment, if you are so inclined

